The Rumney Climbers' Association is a nationally recognized non-profit, and a member of the Access Fund's Local Climbing Organization (LCO) network. The RCA is staffed entirely by a board of unpaid directors. We are a community of climbers with a common goal rooted in preserving the Northeast's premier sport climbing destination, located on Rattlesnake Mountain in Rumney, New Hampshire.

The RCA was formed when public access to Rumney Rocks was threatened in the early '90s. After raising funds from area climbers and the Access Fund, the RCA purchased the privately owned land which held cliffs that include the Meadows, 5.8 Crag, and Monsters From The Id. RCA activists then sold the land, at a monetary loss, to the United States Forest Service. 

In 2016, the RCA again joined forces with the Access Fund and purchased The Final Frontier. This 86-acre tract includes Rumney's northwest crags: The Prudential, Buffalo Pit, Buffalo Corral, Northwest Territories, Asylum, Very Nice Crack area, Boundary Rock, and part of the Blackjack Boulders. In Feb. 2020, the RCA transferred Final Frontier ownership to the USFS. These areas are open to public access as a result of the RCA's work. 

The RCA is continuing to work with the USFS, the Access Fund, and the AAC to pursue a common goal of preserving and improving rock climbing in Rumney, NH. Our preservation initiatives include bolt and anchor replacement, fixed quickdraw replacement, and trail development/maintenance. 

Anyone who chooses to climb or hike on RCA land is solely responsible for his or her own safety. Users are solely responsible for assessing the safety of fixed anchors, fixed protection such as quickdraws, and trails. The RCA assumes no responsibility for your actions and safety.


Climbing, mountaineering, and hiking are inherently dangerous activities regardless of your skill level or experience. Understand and accept risks involved before participating. Minors and others not able to assume this responsibility should be under the direct control of an experienced and responsible climber, mountaineer, or hiker. You are responsible for your own decisions and actions. 

Board of Directors

Pete Jackson.jpg

Pete Jackson

Co-president, Director

Chris Smith_edited.jpg

Chris Smith

Co-president, Director


Andy Casler

Treasurer, Director


Ladd Raine

Secretary, Director

Lee Hanshe.png

Lee Hansche



Madeline McElaney



Will McFarland


Travis Rubury.jpg

Travis Rubury



Ian Wauchope